Granola Blondies Break in New Mixer

There was a very short period of mourning after the death of my KitchenAid, which I thought was supposed to be such a grand appliance since you see it on all the cooking shows and hear about it in all the food magazines. I should have paid more attention to our ancestors, whose Sunbeams have been handed down from generation to generation while continuing to kick KitchenAid’s butt even in their old age! So my beloved KitchenAid has been replaced … with a Sunbeam!

To break in my new mixer, I searched AllRecipes.com by specific ingredients I wanted to use (granola and raisins; though I fully intended to use Craisins instead of raisins). Granola Blondies seemed to fit the bill. They’re definitely not a disappointment, but I have to give this one just one thumbs up. The other thumb is sideways. You may have a different opinion, though. So if you want to try for yourself, here’s the recipe:

Preheat oven to 350°

INGREDIENTS

1 egg
1 egg white
1 1/4 cups packed brown sugar
1/4 cup canola oil
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 cup flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups granola
1 cup dried cranberries

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a mixing bowl, combine egg, egg white, brown sugar, oil, and vanilla; mix well. Combine the flour, baking powder, and salt; stir into sugar mixture just until blended. Stir in granola and cranberries (batter will be very thick).
  2. Spread into a 9 inch square baking pan coated with cooking spray. Bake at 350° for 25-30 minutes or until golden and set. Cool on a wire rack. Cut into bars.

One thought on “Granola Blondies Break in New Mixer

  1. Pingback: Chained to the Computer | Day 4 of Vacation « Words

Leave a comment